Rhode Island Pepper Spray Laws, Rules & Legal Regulations

Guaranteed Legal in Rhode Island

Guaranteed Legal

Our 100% "You Don't Have to Guess" Promise...
If you are over the age of 18 and have not been convicted of a felony or an assault- we guarantee* any pepper spray, self defense, or security product listed on this page is legal to ship/use/carry in the state of Rhode Island at the time of purchase.

*Our guarantee applies to legality at the state level. Most cities and counties simply comply with the state level laws, however, we recommend you check with your local city or county police department for any additional restrictions.

RHODE ISLAND Pepper Spray Law Explanation

The Basics:

  • Must be a minimum of 18 years old
  • Cannot have any convicted felonies on record
  • For self defense purposes only

In the state of RHODE ISLAND, using pepper spray as a way to protect yourself is legal as long as you are not using it with the intent to harm others unnecessarily. As with other forms of non-lethal self protection you are free to carry it and use it for self defense. While gun ownership are permitted in RHODE ISLAND (see the state laws concerning how and where), using a non-lethal product such as pepper spray or an electronic device such as a stun gun, is a great way to defend yourself from danger without necessarily having to make a decision that could have permanent consequences if the situation does not require it.

RHODE ISLAND, is among the 10 most dangerous cities in the United States. Whether you are a local resident, traveling for business, or visiting, it is very important that you understand the risks and steer clear of the more dangerous neighborhoods. Carrying pepper spray is another way to reduce your risk and keep yourself safe.

All the products that we sell in our online store are all legal to carry and use in the state of RHODE ISLAND. Make sure that you are protecting yourself in the best way that you can. Constant vigilance and awareness, avoiding dangerous areas and situations, and carrying a self defense product are all ways that you can improve your personal safety.

What the Official RHODE ISLAND State Law Says

Criminal Offenses
SECTION 11-47-57

§ 11-47-57 "Mace" or similar substances.

Any person eighteen (18) years of age or over may carry on his or her person and use, unless otherwise prohibited by law, any non-lethal noxious substance or liquid for his or her protection or the protection of others; however, the use of any non-lethal noxious substance or liquid for any other purpose shall be punishable by a fine of not more than twenty-five dollars ($25.00).

History of Section.
(P.L. 1981, ch. 406, § 1.)

Online source: http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE11/11-47/11-47-57.HTM


Q: Is Pepper Spray Allowed / Legal in RHODE ISLAND?
A: YES! Pepper spray is legal to purchase, use & carry for self defense purposes.


The highest price is $40.95 Reset
Product type
0 selected Reset

1 product

Filter and sort

Filter and sort

1 of 1 product


The highest price is $40.95

Product type

1 product

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up for our newsletter to recieve news, promotions, and annoucements.