Vermont State Pepper Spray Laws, Rules & Legal Regulations
Guaranteed Legal in Vermont
Our 100% "You Don't Have to Guess" Promise...
If you are over the age of 18 and have not been convicted of a felony or an assault- we guarantee* any pepper spray, self defense, or security product listed on this page is legal to ship/use/carry in the state of Vermont at the time of purchase.
*Our guarantee applies to legality at the state level. Most cities and counties simply comply with the state level laws, however, we recommend you check with your local city or county police department for any additional restrictions.
Vermont Pepper Spray Law Explanation
- Must be a minimum of 18 years old
- Cannot have any convicted felonies on record
- For self defense purposes only
In the state of Vermont, using pepper spray as a way to protect yourself is legal as long as you are not using it with the intent to harm others unnecessarily. As with other forms of non-lethal self protection you are free to carry it and use it for self defense. While gun ownership are permitted in Vermont (see the state laws concerning how and where), using a non-lethal product such as pepper spray or an electronic device such as a stun gun, is a great way to defend yourself from danger without necessarily having to make a decision that could have permanent consequences if the situation does not require it.
Cleveland, Vermont, is among the 10 most dangerous cities in the United States. Whether you are a local resident, traveling for business, or visiting, it is very important that you understand the risks and steer clear of the more dangerous neighborhoods. Carrying pepper spray is another way to reduce your risk and keep yourself safe.
All the products that we sell in our online store are all legal to carry and use in the state of Vermont. Make sure that you are protecting yourself in the best way that you can. Constant vigilance and awareness, avoiding dangerous areas and situations, and carrying a self defense product are all ways that you can improve your personal safety.
What the Official Vermont State Law Says
We could not find anything in the state law that mentions the use of pepper spray or defense sprays of any kind.
The first section of Title 13, Chapter 85 describes Weapons.
Title 13: Crimes And Criminal Procedure
Chapter 85: Weapons
§ 4001. Slung shot, blackjack, brass knuckles Use or possession
A person who uses a slung shot, blackjack, brass knuckles or similar weapon against another person, or attempts so to do, or who possesses a slung shot, blackjack, brass knuckles, or similar weapon, with intent so to use it, shall be imprisoned not more than five years or fined not more than $1,000.00 or both. The provisions of this section do not apply to a law enforcement officer as to the possession and use of a blackjack, billy club or night stick.
The full text of the chapter can be found here: http://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/fullchapter/13/085
Sale(Pink - Out of stock) Pepper Spray Lipstick (1/2 oz )$14.95$16.95
SalePepper Spray Pen (Discontinued)$11.97$13.95