Wisconsin Pepper Spray Use Laws and Ownership Regulations

"Guaranteed Legal" Self Defense Products for Wisconsin

Click for Full List of Wisconsin Legal Products >>>

2oz Police
Pepper Spray

From $14.97 + Free Shipping

Pepper Spray
Keychain (1/2oz)

$10.95 + Free Shipping

Guaranteed Legal Our "Guaranteed Legal" Promise:
We take the time to research and stay up-to-date on WI state self defense laws and regulations, so you don't have to. We guarantee if you are over 18 and have not been convicted of a felony or assault, any self defense product purchased from our listing of "WI legal products" is legal to ship/use/carry in the state of Wisconsin at the time of purchase. Most cities and counties simply comply with the state level laws, however, we recommend you check with your local city or county for any additional restrictions.
See all WI Guaranteed Legal Products >>>

Video Explanation of WI State Laws


In Plain English:
Wisconsin state laws for pepper spray & self defense products

The Basics:

  • Pepper spray canisters must be less than 2 oz.
  • Pepper spray must be 10% or less O.C. (Oleoresin Capsicum)  concentration.
  • Pepper spray cannot be disguised as a common item (i.e. lipsticks, pens, etc.).
  • Must be a minimum of 18 years old.
  • Cannot have any convicted felonies on record.
  • [NOTE] Stun guns are not legal to use, carry or ship to Wisconsin.

In Wisconsin, you are allowed to use pepper spray to defend yourself against someone who is attacking or about to attack you. The minimum age for carrying concealed pepper spray on your body is 18, and if it’s kept in a car, the driver must be over the age of 18. (Since pepper sprays are usually not to be stored in temperatures over 120 degrees, it’s wise not to carry pepper spray in the glove compartment during the warmer months).

Pepper spray is the only self defense spray you can legally carry in Wisconsin. Anything containing traditional mace (not including "Mace" the brand) or tear gas is not legal for the public, even if it’s mixed with pepper spray. The legal ingredient of pepper spray is Oleoresin Capsicum, (OC) the oil derived from the hot pepper. Although you may find some stronger concentrations online, Wisconsin laws state that the strongest concentration of OC used in Wisconsin is 10% -- more than plenty to stop an attack from a human being.

Police sprays often contain ultraviolet (U.V) dyes, so if a suspect manages to escape, he can be identified by the dye marks on the face. The canister must hold less than 2.1 ounces (60 grams) of spray and must have a safety feature like a flip top cap.


In Legal Jargon:
What the official Wisconsin state law says

" FROM: 939.48 Self-defense and defense of others. (1) A person is privileged to threaten or intentionally use force against another for the purpose of preventing or terminating what the person reasonably believes to be an unlawful interference with his or her person by such other person. The actor may intentionally use only such force or threat thereof as the actor reasonably believes is necessary to prevent or terminate the interference. The actor may not intentionally use force which is intended or likely to cause death or great bodily harm unless the actor reasonably believes that such force is necessary to prevent imminent death or great bodily harm to himself or herself."


Please note: We guarantee that as long as you are over 18 and have not been convicted of a felony or assault, any pepper spray product purchased from our listing of "WI legal products" is allowed to ship and process in the state of Wisconsin. Our guarantee applies to legality at the state level. Please check with your local city or county for any additional possible restrictions.